Standing Firm

Motus Humanus encourages “good practice” among its members. One example is certification of competence in Movement Pattern Analysis, an application of Laban theory utilized in management consultation, individual coaching, and team building.

What is Movement Pattern Analysis?

Movement Pattern Analysis (MPA) maps an individual’s characteristic approach to decision making through the discipline analysis of movement behavior.

MPA was developed by the English management consultant Warren Lamb (1923 - ). The approach draws upon ground-breaking studies of movement patterns in relation to job performance conducted in British industry during the 1940s and 1950s by movement theorist Rudolf Laban (1879-1958) and management consultant F.C. Lawrence (1895-1982).

Since being refined in the early 1960s by Warren Lamb, MPA profiles have been used by over 30,000 people, primarily those involved in senior management, to enhance individual career development, to form effective working teams, and to facilitate dynamic processes of collaborative decision making leading to long term success.

Movement Pattern Analysis has been utilized by a variety of enterprises, ranging from small partnerships to multi-national corporations. Benefits of the approach are reflected in the continuous use of MPA in well-known business-industrial organizations for over two decades. Currently, applications in academic, diplomatic, military and other institutional settings are being explored.

Training and Certification in Movement Pattern Analysis

Introductory courses and advanced training to professional standard are offered independently by qualified Movement Pattern Analysis practitioners and institutions of higher learning.

Through the Warren Lamb Trust, Motus Humanus promotes professional excellence in the practice of Movement Pattern Analysis among those who have completed MPA training.

The Warren Lamb Trust

The Warren Lamb Trust is a standing committee of Motus Humanus. It is named after Warren Lamb , creator of Movement Pattern Analysis (MPA).

The committee consists of three trustees –Jagriti Chander, James McBride, and Carol-Lynne Moore -- initially chosen by Warren Lamb himself and charged with the following tasks:

a) overseeing the unified development of Movement Pattern Analysis,

b) providing guidelines for training and encouraging collaboration among training organizations,

c) maintaining a registry of qualified Movement Pattern Analysis consultants,

d) encouraging consistent standards of technical and ethical practice within the MPA system,

e) promoting research into the application of movement study for understanding decision-making behavior in profit and non-profit organizations of all types, f) disseminating information about the MPA system to all interested persons.

Registry of MPA Consultants

Motus Humanus administers qualification procedures to ensure that individuals who have completed MPA training meet professional standards. The following are qualified Movement Pattern Analysis consultants who adhere to the Ethical Guidelines and Standards of Professional Practice established by Motus Humanus and the Warren Lamb Trust.

Laurie Cameron (California) lcameron@pomona.edu
Jagriti Chander (Illinois) chander@thenextmovellc.com
Brenda Connors (Rhode Island) brendaconnors@earthlink.net
Kristina Fluty (Illinois) kristinafluty@gmail.com
Alison Henderson (Illinois) henderson@thenextmovellc.com
Charlotte Honda (Connecticut) charlsneko@sbcglobal.net
J. Calvin Jarrell (Illinois) jcal.jarrell@gmail.com
Janet Kaylo (Georgia) jkaylo@labancan.org
Antja Kennedy (Berlin, Germany) akennedy@laban-ausbildung.de
Shannon Lengerich (Illinois) sllengerich21@gmail.com
Patricia Marek (Washington) patricia@marekconsulting.com
Ruth Madden (Ontario, Canada) ruthmovement@gmail.com
James McBride (Copenhagen/London) jam@coaction.dk
Carol-Lynne Moore (Colorado) motus@motushumanus.org
Kedzie Penfield (Scotland) kedzie1@btinternet.com
Mary Raum (Rhode Island) mary.raum@usnwc.edu
Krista Samborsky (Toronto) krista.samborsky@gmail.com
Madeleine Scott (Ohio) scottm@ohio.edu
Beverly Stokes (California) beverlystokes@amazingbabiesmoving.com
Sabrina Washington (New York) washington.sabrina@gmail.com
Mone Welsche (Germany) mone.welsche@kh-freiburg.de